A Fragile Offering

To all the would-be lovers out there, wondering if it’s really wise to take that first step.

A fragile offering –
moonbeams
shine on
candy hearts
melting in the rain.

I want to say come in.

But my arms are too thin
to hold you and my laugh
comes and goes like a
cloud revealing sun
then passing by again to
cover its yellow eye with
rain.

I want to say come in.

My heart cracked and fiss-
ured a glacier
beginning to slide.

How you are shaking in the rain.

I hold out my hands
for the moonbeams
in your eyes
hope a fragile thing
melting in the rain.

2 thoughts on “A Fragile Offering

Leave a Reply

