Tulip Sunset

The evening is lighter 

than before

tulips just melting

pink and orange

into a forget-me-not sky.

The light across my eyes

almost warm I breathe color 

a tear in my heart almost

sewn with orange thread – 

another breath

warmer than my own calls

to me, the promise of

the sky captured in a

close and intimate

eye.

How it would surround me

but I want to

keep my heart and

breath only the lingering of

color, the eternal, tulip sky.

Hold back the black

night though it brings stars 

and the promise of your

breath, blue and gold.

Leave a Reply

