Daffodil

I tremble
in Winter’s grasp
icicle teeth
and glacier claws
hold my yellow
struggling.

Snowdrops play
her game
calm and chill
they masquerade
in her colours
heads bent and still.

But I stand
yellow and
vibrant nearly
reaching Spring,
I reflect the flower
at the heart
of the sun.

So she keeps
me tightly, a
snow cat ferocious
every talon and tooth
on her trembling prey.

And I wait for
the dance of light
I know must come-
the sky-eyed girl
with mirrors on her
sleeves twirling flashes
into Winter’s eyes
until she retreats
banished in colour
and the world wakes again.

Leave a Reply

