The White Hart

I saw him-
lit by moonlight
milk fur and soft
onyx eyes
pawing my garden
ripping the dirt
with his
fine hoof.

He did not
look up
though my heart
called him loudly.

Perhaps he
could not hear
through the window.

His antlers
wild
and noble
painted the sky

his home
in trees.

Quickly
his tail flashed
a white sail
in the night

my heart tore

to see
moonlight
in his wake.

I wonder
how it might
have
been
my life
from that night

for had he
met my eye

I would have
gone

with him.

Leave a Reply

